“I love Vegas”

I have just returned from the Western States Veterinary Conference in Las Vegas. Four days of learning about all things veterinary. Four nights of eating at delicious restaurants followed by window shopping the impossibly hip, hopelessly expensive couture boutiques. My roommate and I had a blast, but boy am I exhausted! Would you like to see some of our adventures?

First, we stayed at the Luxor hotel. All I can say about it was that it was cheap…

King Tut

 

We visited my favorite “old” hotel, Bellagio:

Bellagio hotel

 

Fountains at the Bellagio

 

If you haven’t seen it, the Fountains are pretty cool. Every 15 minutes, a water show choreographed to music, explodes from the lake in front of the Bellagio hotel. The show above was to the song “All That Jazz” and was quite saucy. When the big fountains fire off, it sounds like a thunder storm as water shoots high into the air:

More Bellagio Fountains

 

While on our evening jaunt, we discovered the brand new (and consequently my favorite) hotel, Aria. I can’t remember what hotel used to be located here, but it has been replaced by a futuristic wonderland. 

The Aria and Crystal Shopping Center

 

Not only are the buildings sleek and beautiful, so are the people. The Aria is located near the Crystal Shopping Center in Las Vegas, a luxury shopping experience. I did not shop in there. I don’t fulfill the prerequisites which include, but are not limited to, a) being a size 00, b) possessing an American Express Black Card and c) speaking an ultra chic foreign language. Even though I could not purchase anything, it was nice to look around and pretend that I was one of the beautiful people. Sigh.

Kristine did make a purchase while at the Aria. She is quite the foodie and was on her own personal Patisserie tour of Vegas. We stopped at Jean Phillipe and my friend, the self proclaimed food snob, picked out a few delicious treats.  Look at this fabulous place:

Kristine at Jean Phillipe

 

Would you look at my proud little friend? She is holding a bag full of sinfully delicious treats. I am still basking in the glow of the raspberry macaroon that she selected. 

Here are some more random images from my trip:

The strip from Sushi Roku

 

Some haute couture - Carolina Herrera and Roberto Cavalli

 

Funky decor at Crystal

 

While I enjoyed learning and window shopping, I missed my family. I planned ahead and took a picture of each of my girls before I left, just so I could remember what they looked like.

Chloe

 

Ella

 

Whenever I was homesick, I picked up my camera and stared at these two photos. Gary sent me the occasional photo from his Blackberry, just to prove that he and the grandparents hadn’t neglected them too badly.

I can remember a time in my life when I thought happiness and personal fulfillment came from material things. While I was walking amongst all of the beautiful clothes and shoes and buildings, all I could think about was my family at home. And how no pair of Jimmy Choos or diamonds from Tiffany could bring me the joy that my family does. I may not be able to afford all of those beautiful things, which is okay. Because my family is priceless. 

 

One thought on ““I love Vegas”

Leave a Reply

