It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas

I have always been a crammer. Never able to plan ahead or stay organized, I wait until the last possible second to finish something. Which unfortunately seems to have carried over in to the holiday season. Today is December 20th, five days before Christmas. Our tree has been up since Tuesday, but I only got around to decorating it today. Which isn’t too bad, I suppose. At least it isn’t Christmas Eve.

The girls were quite helpful in dressing the tree this year. Take a look:

Chloe's Favorite Ornament

 

She carried this rotund Santa around half the morning, saying “mommy, I just love it!”. It is now Chloe’s ornament.

Ella and her garland

 

Ella found the little red beads super exciting. She flung them around the floor, tying them in to knots that took about an hour to undo. 

Yummy garland

 

Apparently the beads taste good, too. At least they are helping soothe the two little teeth that are coming in.

View from the step ladder

View from the step ladder

 

Chloe did all that she could to get on the step ladder. I did all that I could to keep her off.

Each girl was kind enough to pose in front of the tree for me. Ella was a bit difficult to catch as she had bigger and better things to do.

Ella D

 

C. Belle

 

I’d like to take a moment to extol the virtues of shatterless Christmas ornaments. Without these, my dustbuster would be overheating and my girls feet would be shredded to bits. Speaking of the ornaments, the girls had a great time putting them in a bucket. Perfect opportunity to bust out the Lensbaby:

Festive

 

More Lensbaby fun

 

Santa, Lensbaby style

 

Chloe hanging some ornaments

 

The finished product

 

As you can see, we had some fun putting the tree together today. Even the dogs enjoyed themselves, watching the shenanigans from the comfort of their dog bed in front of the fireplace. I am just so happy that Gary splurged on an actual tree this year, instead of his usual Charlie Brown reject tree from the back of the lot. Thanks boyfriend for finally doing a respectable job in tree selection!

I must admit, I have been afflicted with some serious Christmas cheer this year. Gary has, too. And like my friend Mel, I have enjoyed seeing Christmas through my girls’ eyes. The joy, the wonder and the sweet innocence that fills their little hearts. 

I know that I am five days early in saying this, but I just can’t help myself:

MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!

2 thoughts on “It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas

    • Hi Sam!
      I am so glad you enjoyed the photos and the Christmas spirit. I just LOVE my Lensbaby… I met Craig at Kevin Kubota’s Bootcamp last month and I have been hooked on this lens ever since! Thanks for making such great products 🙂
      Merry Christmas and Happy New Year,
      Nicole

Leave a Reply

