Boot to the Head

I am in day 4 of 5 at Kevin Kubota’s Bootcamp and I am suffering from “boot to the head” syndrome. Translation: my brain is on overload. And while I can feel my neurons crying, burning and dying a slow and painful death, I am so glad that I came. Because I have learned a lot of really REALLY cool stuff and because I have met some really REALLY cool people. Like Craig Strong, maker of the Lensbaby. I had been wanting to buy one for a while, but was intimidated because it is totally manual and seemed way too complicated. But I got over myself and I must say that I am IN LOVE with this lens! He brought a whole bunch of lenses and inserts for us to play with and I had a blast. I mean HOLY COW!!! I got to shoot this lens and the inventor was right here to answer questions, give us tips… what an amazing opportunity!

In case you don’t know what a Lensbaby is, it takes photos where only a portion of the images are in focus. Which probably sounds really strange, but I just happen to love the way it looks. Without further adieu, here are some shots that I have taken with this funky lens, my new best friend:

0034_Lensbaby

A branch with some leaves

0060_Lensbaby

A mailbox lock

0130_LensbabyT

Snow falling amongst the trees

0112_LensbabyT

My feet in the super cool hotel tub

0106_LensbabyT

Water falling in to my super cool tub

Anyhow… that was my first foray into the Lensbaby. I love love love it and I can’t wait to use it some more!

I’ll be posting way more about this workshop later, after my brain has simmered down some and has had some time to comprehend all of the amazingness that I was so fortunate to be a part of this week. A big THANK YOU to my husband Gary who not only financed this journey, but stayed home all week with our beautiful girls. Thanks for having some faith in me boyfriend.

Leave a Reply

