Maddie the Chorkie

While I was at work yesterday, I had the pleasure of photographing the most adorable little dog, Maddie. She belongs to one of the technicians I work with, and she is just the cutest, most sweetest thing ever! She is a Chihuahua and Yorkie cross – a chorkie or a yihuahua. I personally like chorkie better, mostly because I cannot pronounce yihuahua.

Maddie was having her hair done, and I thought she needed the complete model experience with photographs and everything. Here is Maddie with her mohawk:

Flat Maddie

Flat Maddie

You can’t quite get the full mohawk effect in this view, but I thought she looked so cute, all flat on the table. There is no way on Earth either of my dogs would willingly assume this position.

Here are a few more shots of Maddie and her rocker look:

The Mohawk, lateral view

The Mohawk, lateral view

The Mohawk, VD view

The Mohawk, VD view

I thought I would play around with Photoshop a little and have some fun. I asked Heather (Maddie’s mom) her favorite color. Can you guess what color she told me?

Maddie in Purple

Maddie in Purple

We thought it would be fun to give Maddie a rockin’ red mohawk:

Rocker Chick

Rocker Chick

I have way too much fun on my computer.

I tried to take some portraits of Maddie with my macro lens. I really love this lens a lot, but it is pretty difficult to use on a moving subject. But I got this photo, my favorite from the day:

Maddie's Antenna

Maddie's Antenna

Besides her one little antenna at the top of the photo, I love that you can see so much detail on her nasal planum (the leathery part of her nose, for all you non-veterinary, normal people).

Before we were done with Maddie, she had one more style to try out. One word to describe it: rad.

Rad-y Maddie

Rad-y Maddie

The intention was to create a fabulous comb-over, but I think it turned out a little more 80’s retro-punk. It reminds me of Molly Ringwald’s crazy friend’s hair on Pretty in Pink (you know, the one who had the record shop… can’t remember her name).

Thank you Heather for donating your dog so that I may practice with my camera and my computer. I think Maddie had a great time:)  

*No animals were hurt during the production of this blog post.

One thought on “Maddie the Chorkie

Leave a Reply

