Another Year

 I am 36 years old today, which seems a bit old to me. I was excited to turn 35 last year, because 35 just sounds cool. But 36? Not so much. 

Then I got to thinking… 36=18×2. Today I turned 18 for the second time. As I was driving to work, I pondered some more, and began to think about how my life is different on this 18th birthday.

When I was 18, I listened to music on cassette tapes. Today, I listen to my iPod.

When I was 18, my favorite band was Jane’s Addiction. Today, they are still my favorite band (and playing this weekend in Chicago!).

When I was 18, I had one cat. Today, I have 5 cats, 2 dogs and a parrot (the parrot was not my choice).

When I was 18, I had a boyfriend named Marty, who I thought was the man of my dreams. Today, I have a husband named Gary, who I know is the man of my dreams.

When I was 18, I lived in a dorm room. Today, I live in my dream house.

When I was 18, I wanted to be a pediatrician. Today, I am a veterinarian.

When I was 18, I would have been pissed to work on my birthday. Today, I feel fortunate to have the opportunity to work.

When I was 18, I thought I was fat. Today, I still think I’m fat. The difference is, I am okay with it.

When I was 18, I never wanted kids. Today, I can’t imagine life without my two daughters.

When I was 18, the most amazing thing my body did was a quadruple pirouette. Today, the most amazing thing my body has done is conceive, carry, deliver and nurse my babies.

My life has changed quite a bit, to say the least.  And not just in terms of geography or statistics. All of the experiences and moments and joys and regrets have shaped the person that I am today. And that person is a proud mommy, an understanding wife, an aspiring photographer, an experienced veterinarian, and an all-around happy individual. Life has been good to me and I am thankful for that. I am thankful for 36 wonderful, amazing, glorious years and I am excited for another 36 more.

 

Flowers from Gary

Happy Birthday to Me!

One thought on “Another Year

Leave a Reply

