Kitty TV

Our new house has this humongous, ginormous, gargantuan oak tree in the back yard, right outside our kitchen window. This tree has to be at least 100 years old… it is just plain awesome. 

Turns out the local gray squirrels think that it is pretty awesome, too. Every day, I see at least 3 of them racing up and down the limbs of this tree (who still needs a name, by the way). The cats have become fixtures on our counter tops, watching the escapades of these little acrobats. They sit there, chattering away, like they are about to capture themselves a tasty treat. 

After watching the squirrels for a few moments, I grabbed my camera to try and catch some of their activities. Take a look:

 

Just Chillin'

Just Chillin'

Chillin' some more...

Chillin' some more...

It may appear as though these little guys sit in the tree all day, torturing my indoor cats. Nope. These little mammals are actually Cirque du Soliel gymnasts in furry little costumes:

 

And now... a triple flip with a half twist

And now... a triple flip with a half twist

... or not

... or not

Not always the picture of grace. Although if I were to hang upside down in a tree, it would end with an ambulance ride and lots of metal implanted in my various broken bones.

The squirrels have been having quite the time trying to break in to the bird feeder that Gary hung off one of the limbs last weekend. I’m sure it will be a matter of days before they figure out a way to get in there. Until then, it serves as a nice swing and jumping platform.

 

I'm gonna get that bird food!

I'm gonna get that bird food!

 

Curses! Foiled again!

Curses! Foiled again!

Sometimes they battle over food or the perfect spot on a tree limb. Or they get bored and chase each other around in a fit of squeaks:

 

Aaaaaaaaaand they're off!

Aaaaaaaaaand they're off!

This is when the cats get super excited and try to dive through the window. I should probably bring home some suture just in case that happens one day…

As you can see, the squirrels do not exist just for my cats’ entertainment, but for my own as well. And if you will excuse me, I have to insert this photo just because I think it is funny. If you are not into bathroom humor, I apologize. Well, not really… because I think it is hilarious.

 

The End

The End

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Kitty TV

  1. I think you’re a litty “nutty” taking so many pictures of squirrels. It was so hot here last week that I actually saw a squirrel fanning his nuts.

Leave a Reply

