Good Girl Times with my BFF

I have one of the best friends in the whole wide world! Her name is Kim and we met 18 years ago in college. We were in the same sorority pledge class, we had the same major and we both wanted to be pediatricians. At some point during our college journey, I realized that working on humans was not for me… Kim stuck with it and is a tot doc down in Southern California.

In being friends for nearly two decades, we have had some great times together. Trips to Vegas, Napa, San Francisco… they centered around shopping, food, wine and lots of dancing. Nowadays, our dancing shoes are somewhere in a box in a dusty corner. Probably under containers of pictures and knick knacks that are intended to go in baby books some day. Our lives have changed a bit and are currently centered around our babies. And since we live some 300 miles apart, getting together is not very convenient. But we try to do it at least once a year. 

We managed to see each other this past weekend for a quick visit in San Francisco. Kim had free ticket with Southwest Airlines that was about to expire, and she is not soooooo pregnant that flying is contraindicated. So I drove out to SFO on Saturday morning to pick up my BFF for some good girl times, full of shopping, eating and sleeping. Did I mention there were no kids?

Our lives may have changed over the past 18 years, but some things are still the same. For instance, chocolate:

Chocolate!

Chocolate!

Gourmet S'mores

Gourmet S'mores

Some people may think $30 is a lot to spend on chocolate, but not us.

And then there was the complimentary fruit plate from Alex at our hotel. He wanted to thank us for being so nice to him at check in.

VIP Fruit Plate

Thanks Alex!

 We did do a little bit of shopping, but nothing like the good ole’ days. And rather than go out and purchase tons of clothes for the wee ones, we did a little clothing exchange:

OBaby Girl Clothes

Baby Girl Clothes

There is more in the 3-6 month category, they are just in another box. 

Baby Boy Clothes

Baby Boy Clothes

I wish that I were the lucky recipient of these clothes, but I don’t have a boy. So they are going to my nephew, Luke Owen. Enjoy big fella… you hit the jackpot!

I didn’t photograph any of our wine, as Kim had to abstain (darn pregnancy). I did enjoy a glass of wine at the Regency Club at our hotel. The wine was nowhere as spectacular as our view. Here is a look from the 35th floor:

View from the Grand Club Room

View from the Grand Club Room

And while we’re at it, here is a view from our view, which overlooked Union Square:

View from our Room

View from our Room

And here is one more sighting one cannot leave San Francisco without:

Gratuitous Cable Car Photo

Gratuitous Cable Car Photo

There are 3 cable cars lined up in this photo, down at the end of Powell Street. We happened by there on our way to shopping.

All this talk of Kim, you are probably wondering what she looks like. Wait no longer, because here is a photo of my beautiful friend and her little baby girl, who will be making her debut in early November:

My BFF Kim

My BFF Kim

 Isn’t she gorgeous?!?! And to top it off, she is sweet, smart and super sassy! She has been a big part of my life for a long time and I am so thankful for all of our time together. I am excited to see where the next 18 years takes us…

Thank you for being my Best Friend Forever, Kim! 

I Heart You

I Heart You

One thought on “Good Girl Times with my BFF

Leave a Reply

