Rage Against the Wiggles

There are several unpleasant duties that are inherent in the job of “mommy”. The obvious ones being diaper duty, profound sleep deprivation and, of course, the actual process of childbirth itself. Several friends had prepared me well for these less than glamorous tasks. But nobody prepared me for what I endured this past Tuesday. Although I’m not sure that anybody could have. You see, two days ago, I took Chloe to her very first live concert. That’s right folks, I’m talkin’ the Wiggles.

Our friend Megan informed me that the Wiggles would be coming to Arco Arena and that she wanted to take her daughter Sydney. She thought it would be fun if Chloe and I came along. Her husband (who was the best man at our wedding) even found floor seats on eBay. Megan said that they put on a great show and I thought it could be fun. Besides, I haven’t been to a concert in years. In fact, the last concert I saw was Rage Against the Machine at Arco Arena some 8 years ago. And I even had floor seats. I figured that if I was able to survive the mosh pits during a Rage concert, the Wiggles would be a piece of cake. Boy was I wrong. 

I took my camera along with the hopes of photographing Chloe at her first concert. At first, I had a hard time getting my settings right… I have never shot in a concert venue before. Eventually I got my settings dialed in and I was able to follow Chloe around, snapping pictures here and there.

Take a look at my little rock star:

 

The ride there

The ride there

 Megan’s car has a DVD player… I will never be able to get Chloe to ride in my car again.

 

Happy Girl

Happy Girl

I would love to say that this is how she was the entire concert. Happy, smiling, entertained by the bright and shiny show that was going on in front of her. Don’t get me wrong… she was happy. She just had a severe case of ants in her pants and couldn’t manage to sit longer than 2 minutes before she was up and about. Climbing the stairs, in search of junk food to eat. And telling me on several occasions that she had to go potty. Only one time did she really have to go. The rest of the times were just ploys so that she could go climb stairs. 

I could go on for pages and pages, but I think I will let my photos do the talking.

 

Murray plays "Stairway to Heaven"

The Groupie

Chloe was taken by Murray’s solo performance of “Stairway to Heaven”.

 

Coveting Someone Else's Gold Fish Crackers

Coveting Someone Else's Gold Fish Crackers

Dancing Queen

Dancing Queen

Again, the Groupie

Again, the Groupie

Wow! This is Amazing!

Wow! That's Amazing!

Sydney, on the other hand, enjoyed the entire show from her seats. They were awesome seats! Here’s a look at Chloe’s friend “Sweetie”.

 

Sydney the Rock Star

Sydney the Rock Star

Rock On Sydney!

Rock On Sydney!

As the show drew to a close, the Wiggles said that they would be turning down the lights and encouraged everyone to pull out their cell phones and light sticks for a last song. Which brought back memories of burning my thumb on a lighter while Metallica played “Nothing Else Matters”. Here’s what the audience looked like:

Wiggles_116

And here is what the stage looked like during the last song:

 

Twinkle Twinkle Little Star

Twinkle Twinkle Little Star

Chloe knows the words to Twinkle, so we sat there and sang them together. As exhausted and annoyed as I was for having been suckered in to going to this concert, that moment made it all worth it. I would love to say that as the song ended, Chloe looked into my eyes and said “mommy, I love you”. But she didn’t. She leapt out of her seat as though it were electrified and was off again, looking for popcorn.

Here’s a look at the girls after the concert:

 

Just to prove that we were there...

Just to prove that we were there...

 

We love the Wiggles!

We love the Wiggles!

Well, Sydney loved the Wiggles. Chloe loved running the stairs at the Wiggles.

As much as I hated the idea of going to a Wiggles show, I actually had a really nice time. Perhaps we’ll go again some day, once Chloe has an attention span worthy of the spectacular show that was put on. But somehow I’m afraid the Wiggles will no longer be alive when that day arrives.

Thanks Megan and Sweetie!

Leave a Reply

