The Woodpecker

There is this cool tree near my house. Actually, there are lots of cool trees, but this one has piqued my interest for many years. It is old and dead and is filled with all sorts of little holes that is the busywork of several resident woodpeckers. I have always wanted to photograph it, but always found an excuse to not drag my camera and tripod out there. Until the other day, when the sky was clear and blue. Fortunately, a little woodpecker was out doing his thing. Unfortunately, my lens maxes out at 200mm. But I still got some fun shots.

Woodpecker_033_edited-1

 

Isn’t that tree just the coolest? I just love all of the holes in the branches. I wonder how long it took to peck all of those… And look at how proud Mr. Woodpecker looks.

Woodpecker_035_edited-1

 

A closer look. If only I had a 400-600mm lens…I would be broke. But I would have had a great picture of the woodpecker!

Woodpecker_036_edited-1

 

Anyhow, this is as close as I was able to get. And I just happened to catch him doing his work. I’m not quite sure what he was working so hard for…if only I had a really shwanky zoom. And I knew how to focus.

That is all from the zoo today.

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

