Thank You Eddy

I had the privilege of photographing one of Folsom’s finest this past weekend. His name is Eddy and he is a K9 officer with the Folsom Police Department. His handler is a good friend of the family, and he told me that Eddy would be retiring soon. Which made me sad, because Eddy is such a great dog and has provided such wonderful service to our city. But at the same time, I am happy for him, because now he gets to live the good life at home with his little buddy Grace and his little human Avery.

I begged Lou to let me come over and take a few pictures of Eddy before he retires.

So this is my tribute to Eddy, who will be working his last shift tonight. 

Officer Eddy

Officer Eddy

Isn’t he a handsome fellow?

wrights_011cmi

Stay Away!!!

You don’t have to tell me twice! Know why? Because this dog will take your arm off. Not because he is mean, but because it is his job (if you are a bad guy, that is). I got to see him practice, and I pity the fool that has Eddy coming after him.

Practice

Practice

See what I mean? FYI, Eddy weighs nearly 100 pounds.

But it’s not like that is all that Eddy does, run around and eat bad people. He does a lot of community service, such as going to schools and visiting with the kids.  Lou says that the two of them have a great time together, and that the kids really light up when they see Eddy.

Lou lights up, too. These two have formed an incredible bond that is really quite amazing to see.

Lou and Eddy

Lou and Eddy

 

Partners

Partners

I just love this shot. I asked Lou to give Eddy a kiss, thinking that he was going to tell me to go to hell, or something along those lines. But he didn’t. He turned to Eddy and gave him a nice big smooch. I resisted the urge to say “awwwwwwwwwwww, how sweet!” and I pressed my shutter button as hard as I could. There is a mutual love and respect between these two officers, and I was hoping to capture that. I hope that I will be able to give Lou a photograph that will remind him of all the things that he loves about this dog, and all of the good work that they have done together.

So thank you, Eddy. Thank you for your service. Be safe tonight and enjoy your retirement.

Thank you Eddy

K9 Officer Eddy

 

wrights_313bw

Thank you

One thought on “Thank You Eddy

Leave a Reply

