Sunset at Folsom Lake

We have lived in Folsom for 7 years now (OMG has it been that long?) and we rarely go to the lake. And we have never gone to the lake to watch the sunset. A few weeks ago, it was unseasonably warm – 90 degrees in April?!?! – and the sun didn’t set until almost 8 o’clock. I somehow managed to convince my husband to drag our two adorable girls to the lake so that I could get some shots at sunset. He gave me a little bit of a ‘tude, but I sure am glad that I persisted. Because that night I took some of my favorite photos to date.

First shot

First shot

This was the first shot I took that night, right near the parking lot. I love the warm, beautiful light and how it backlights Chloe’s hair and flowy skirt. And even though I don’t normally like bugs, I love that I can see them flying around in the sun’s rays.

We made our way up the hill so that we could see the lake. The lupine is blooming this time of year, and I was hoping to get some shots of Chloe traipsing through the beautiful purple flowers. I didn’t find any lupine, but there were some other pretty purple flowers blooming (I actually think that they are weeds, but flowers sound so much nicer than weeds).

Chloe in the pretty purple flowers

Chloe in the pretty purple flowers

Here is my little girl, walking towards the lake. Isn’t the light just beautiful? Chloe is looking back towards daddy and sister, hoping that they hurry up so she can go down to the water.

BTW, recognize part of this photo? It is the header on my blog page.

Rock skipping

Rock skipping

We made it down to the water, and nobody even fell in! Gary tried to teach Chloe how to skip rocks across the water. She pretty much just tossed them in with a big “kerplunk” and then congratulated herself with a “good job Chloe!”. She had so much fun, and became very enamored with the rocks.

Chloe Belle, geologist

Chloe and her rock

She sat there and studied the rocks. Then she carefully brushed the dirt off of each one before hurling it into the water. Perhaps she will become a geologist some day.

My beautiful girl

My beautiful girl

I think Gary is right, I make adorable babies!

Sunset at the Lake

Sunset at the Lake

An hour passed by so quickly, and the sun began to set behind the dam. But not before I got one last shot of daddy with his girls.

My Family

My Family

Good night.

Leave a Reply

