For the Love of Pets

When I first started taking pictures, my idea was that I would take portraits of babies. So I asked a friend if I could practice on her newborn and she politely obliged. The photos I took of her daughter were not very good. Turns out that my favorite photo from that day was of her dog. Here it is:

Gus

Gus

Which got me thinking…perhaps I should branch out and consider pet portraits, too. It only makes sense seeing as though I am a veterinarian and all.

So here are a few photos I have shot since my mini epiphany:

Big Fat Otis

Big Fat Otis

Here is Otis, my 24 pound diabetic cat. Isn’t he handsome? He just loves to sunbathe, and this was the first sunny day of the spring.

Maddie

Maddie

And here is sweet little Maddie, who came into work with her mommy one day. She is so cute I just HAD to snap a photo of her! But it turned out to be way more difficult than I thought. She was sitting in a cage and kept trying to jump out. And she kept bobbing her head to get away from my camera. But I was finally able to get a shot.

Russell

Russell

 And this in my in-law’s cat Russell. Does that make him my brother-in-law? He is a big boy, and likes to lay on the bar stool. He just sort of spreads himself out, legs dangling over the edge, like a big lion laying in a tree.

Major

Major

How cute is this little guy? I just love him! This is my neighbor’s puppy and he is just the most adorable little thing you have ever seen!

I just took some photos of a very special dog named Eddy, which I will post later. I have something planned just for him.

Until then…

Leave a Reply

