Invasion of the Bowl Heads

I remember one time I was sitting at work, writing my records in the office. The other vet working that day said “it’s too quiet…I wonder what the staff is up to”. She got up out of her chair, and sure enough, found the staff members engaged in some sort of illicit behavior, like texting when they should have been cleaning (bad, bad people!!!). I found that to be such an interesting observation, and I filed it away in a very dark and dusty corner in my brain.

Fast forward 5 years and 2 kids. The girls were watching one of their So Smart DVDs in the play room while I was doing dishes. I stopped for a moment and realized “it is too quiet”. I walked over to the play room to see what was up, and this is what I found:

Watching DVDs

Watching DVDs

That would be Ella in the foreground, wearing a bowl on her head. Big sister put it there. And apparently the little 6 month old was either a) not coordinated enough to remove the bowl from her head or b) enjoying her new accesory.

Ella and her bowl

Ella Bowl Head

I peeked under there to make sure she was okay, and she was. Chloe then decided it was her turn to wear the bowl:

Chloe Bowl Head

Chloe Bowl Head

I could barely stop laughing long enough to grab a few photos. But not before I was accosted by the bowl as well:

Scary Mommy Bowl Head

Scary Mommy Bowl Head

I don’t know what is scarier, the big dark circles under my eyes, or the fact that the bowl appears so much smaller on my noggin. I tried to Photoshop out those dark circles, but the program just wasn’t powerful enough to cover up 3 years of continuous sleep deprivation. Actually, it did a great job, but I looked so unnatural that I had to delete the changes. I just didn’t look like me, all fresh and rested, sans dark circles.

On that note, I think I will head off to bed now. The little maniacs are asleep, but it is just a matter of time before one wakes up…

Have a great night!

One thought on “Invasion of the Bowl Heads

  1. You and those girlies crack me up! Ellie and Owen will be ready for their photo shoot next! Your girls are so adorable.

Leave a Reply

